Springbok Squad Announced


On 5 August, following a 25-17 Win by The Crusaders over The Lions, the Springbok Squad for the 2017 Rugby Championship was announced.

Grahamstown-born Springbok coach Allister Coetzee opted for continuity with his squad, retaining the majority of players who starred in the test series win over France.

“All of the Springboks who were in action in the June Tests and the latter part of the Vodacom Super Rugby campaign played very well and I have no doubt that they will bring that form with them when we assemble,” explained Coetzee.

“Some players have initially missed out on selection due to various reasons, but this squad is not cast in stone and changes can be made as we progress through the tournament.

“I always said it must be difficult for a player to force himself into the squad, and I am really pleased that through their performances they have again earned selection to the Springbok group.”

Forwards (with caps):

Uzair Cassiem (1), Lood de Jager (29), Dan du Preez (0), Jean-Luc du Preez (4), Pieter-Steph du Toit (23), Eben Etzebeth (57), Lizo Gqoboka (0), Steven Kitshoff (13), Siya Kolisi (19), Jaco Kriel (8), Frans Malherbe (17), Malcolm Marx (5), Bongi Mbonambi (8), Oupa Mohoje (17), Franco Mostert (10), Tendai Mtawarira (90), Trevor Nyakane (28), Coenie Oosthuizen (26)

Backs (with caps):

Curwin Bosch (0) , Andries Coetzee (3), Ross Cronje (2), Damian de Allende (22), Warrick Gelant (0) , Francois Hougaard (42), Elton Jantjies (14), Jesse Kriel (19), Dillyn Leyds (3), Rudy Paige (8), Handré Pollard (20), Raymond Rhule (3), Jan Serfontein (29), Courtnall Skosan (3), Francois Venter (3)

Facebook Comments

About Author

Comments are closed.