Big smiles at Willows’ prize giving gig


Dr Trevor Davies (left) at the prize-giving. Photo: Supplied 


Melville Daniels, had his arms full and his chest glittering from the many accolades he received when his Willows Cricket Club held their Dr Davies Optometrists Prize Giving Ceremony at Gold Rush Casino recently. Daniels’ haul of awards included Player’s Player of the Season, Best Batsman and Best All Rounder Award. The club last held such a glamour event in 2012.
Players, sponsors, invited guests, founding members and executive of the club attended the event and wise counsel came from Guest Speaker was Mbulelo “Asi” Budaza, a former Willows player who plays professionally for the VKB Knights.
Dr Davies Optometrists who made part of the night possible with sponsorship for trophies and medals, while Nicky Bowers of Gold Rush Casino loaned the venue for free, as well as providing snacks and water. Other sponsors included M. Sonday Physiotherapy, Jannie Coltman, Leon Coetzee, Maino Graphic Design, Sebestian Wessels, Percival Brooks, Grocott’s Mail, guest speaker Mbulelo Budaza, former and current players, as well as Xanephan May and Chesley Chusta Daniels, who put the whole event together.

The full list of the Dr Trevor Davies Optometrists Awards:

  1. Player of the Season: Melville Daniels
  2. Player’s Player of the Season: Melville Daniels
  3. Moomish/Joker of the Season: Seviano Jasson
  4. Certificates of Appreciation: Mohammed Sonday, Jannie Coltman, Leon Coetzee, Percival Brooks, Xanephan May, Nicky Bowers Gold Rush Bingo, Chesley Chusta Pro Daniels, Matthew Jeggels
  5. SA Rural Team: Athi Kotta
  6. EP Rural Team: Marquin Loutz, Mohammed Sonday, Cole Wessels, Seviano Jasson, Winston Johnson, Abner Accom, Melville Daniels (Manager)
  7. Pineapple Tournament Team XI: Athi Kotta, Thandisile Ngowana
  8. Most Promising Players: Romario Fritz, Liam Agnew, Declan Muller
  9. Most Improved Player: Mohammed Sonday
  10. Most Dedicated Player: Seviano Jasson
  11. Best All Rounder: Melville Daniels
  12. Best Fielder: Abner Accom (77)
  13. Best Batting Average: Ruwayne Wayno Brooks (26.6)


Facebook Comments

About Author

Grocott's Mail Contributors includes content submitted by members of the public, and public and private institutions and organisations - regular and occasional, expert and citizen, opinion and analysis.

Comments are closed.