EP Small-Bore Rifle Championships 2018


On Saturday 5 May, the biggest and strongest field of shotists in almost a decade descended on the Rhodes University Rifle Range to compete in the 2018 Eastern Province Small-Bore Rifle Championships. Grahamstown was well represented, with twelve competitors from the Rhodes University (RU) Rifle Club and six competitors from the PJ Olivier (PJO) Rifle Club. The competitors were divided into five classes.

The weather was ideal for shooting and the scores were high. The locals started well, with Gerrit Vlok (PJO) winning Gold in Match 1 in the F Class. Match 2 in the F Class was won by another local, Geoff Bagshawe-Smith (RU). The overall Gold in F Class went to Bagshawe-Smith, Silver to Quinton Lewis (SANDF) and Bronze to Vlok.

Class D was dominated by competitors from Rhodes University. Ethan Sebakwane (RU) won Gold in both matches, as well as the overall Class D Gold.  He was followed by Claire McNish (RU), who added Bronze in Match 1 and Silver in Match 2 to her overall Silver in Class D. Overall Bronze went to Jade Jack (RU), who also took Silver in Match 1. David Taylor (RU) took Bronze in Match 2.

Karen Bradshaw (RU) dominated Class C, winning Gold in both matches as well as overall.  In the process she set a new personal best of 573. She was followed by James Connan (RU) who took Silver in both matches as well as the overall Silver medal. Bronze in both matches, as well as the overall Bronze medal, went to Nadine Janse van Vuuren from Mpumalanga.

John Dean (SANDF) took overall Gold in Class B. Basil Human (PJO) kept the Silver in Grahamstown while Anita Dean (SANDF) took home the Bronze. Human also took Silver in Match 1 and Bronze in Match 2, while Graeme Schmeldt (RU) took Gold in Match 2.

The winner in Class A, and EP Small-Bore Champion 2018, was Gavin van Rhyn, who won both matches as well as Gold overall. 

Members of the Rhodes University Rifle club after a long and successful day of shooting.
Photo: Supplied

Facebook Comments

About Author

Grocott's Mail Contributors includes content submitted by members of the public, and public and private institutions and organisations - regular and occasional, expert and citizen, opinion and analysis.

Comments are closed.