Eskom announces loadshedding starting today

0

UPDATE AT 8pm Sunday 18 November 2018:

Eskom stops loadshedding

18 November 2018: Loadshedding was cancelled as from 19:00 on 18 November 2018 as we made sufficient progress with regard to the emergency reserves. Customers should note that some municipalities may take longer to restore load once loadshedding has been terminated. If customers experience outages for longer periods than announced, please contact your supplier (Eskom or the Municipality) as this may be a localised power outage.

Eskom would like to thank its customers for assisting in keeping the power system stable by reducing their energy usage and will keep them informed if there are any changes to the system.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience to affected customers.

ORIGINAL POST:

Eskom says Stage 1 rotational loadshedding that started from 12.15pm today is likely to continue until 10pm to preserve emergency resources.

“Customers are reminded to treat all electrical points as live during loadshedding,” the Eskom Media Desk said in a statement an hour ago.

“Customers are advised to keep checking their loadshedding schedules on the Eskom and their municipal website, and to plan on the assumption that load shedding will take place. We continue to appeal to residents and businesses to use electricity sparingly during this period. Please switch off geysers as well as all non-essential lighting and electricity appliances to assist in reducing demand,” Eskom said.

For Eskom customers, these schedules are available on the Eskom website (http://loadshedding.eskom.co.za).Eskom customers can also contact their customer contact centre at 0860 037 566.

“Customers should note that some municipalities take longer to restore load once loadshedding is terminated. This is to allow for switching off the network in a way that will not damage the power system,” Eskom said.

“If customers experience outages for longer periods than announced, please contact your supplier (Eskom or the Municipality) as this may be a localised power outage.”

Makhanda (Grahamstown) Grahamstown has two loadshedding areas – 1 and 2.

Grahamstown 1 – Rhodes, Military Base, Golf Course, Slaaikraal, Strowen Farm, Strowan Mine, Industrial Area, Prison, Tick Research, Mountain Drive, Brackendale farm, Salem Crossroads, Thomas Baines, Howieson’s Poort & Settlers Pump Station, Cradock Heights, Somerset Heights, Ghost Town, Hooggenoeg, Vergenoeg, Scott’s Farm, Kingswood, Hill 60, West Hill, Orsmond Area, Upper High, New and African streets.

Grahamstown 2 – Stones Hill, Belmont Area, Sunnyside, Fort England Area, CBD Area, Oatlands North, Oatlands South, Settlers Hospital, St Andrew’s College, Fort England Hospital, VG High and Primary School, PJ Olivier School, Bottom of High, New and African streets.

GRAHAMSTOWN 1 – stage 1

Sun, 18 Nov
01:00 – 03:30

Mon, 19 Nov
09:00 – 11:30

Tue, 20 Nov
17:00 – 19:30

Wed, 21 Nov
23:00 – 01:30

Thu, 22 Nov

Fri, 23 Nov
07:00 – 09:30

Sat, 24 Nov
15:00 – 17:30

Sun, 25 Nov
21:00 – 23:30

Mon, 26 Nov

Tue, 27 Nov
05:00 – 07:30

Wed, 28 Nov
13:00 – 15:30

Thu, 29 Nov
19:00 – 21:30

Fri, 30 Nov

Sat, 01 Dec
01:00 – 03:30

Sun, 02 Dec
09:00 – 11:30

Mon, 03 Dec
17:00 – 19:30

Tue, 04 Dec

Wed, 05 Dec

Thu, 06 Dec
07:00 – 09:30

Fri, 07 Dec
15:00 – 17:30

Sat, 08 Dec
23:00 – 01:30

Sun, 09 Dec

Mon, 10 Dec
05:00 – 07:30

Tue, 11 Dec
13:00 – 15:30

Wed, 12 Dec
21:00 – 23:30

Thu, 13 Dec

Fri, 14 Dec
03:00 – 05:30

Sat, 15 Dec
11:00 – 13:30

Sun, 16 Dec
19:00 – 21:30

 

GRAHAMSTOWN 2

Sun, 18 Nov
17:00 – 19:30

Mon, 19 Nov

Tue, 20 Nov
01:00 – 03:30

Wed, 21 Nov
07:00 – 09:30

Thu, 22 Nov
15:00 – 17:30

Fri, 23 Nov
23:00 – 01:30

Sat, 24 Nov

Sun, 25 Nov
05:00 – 07:30

Mon, 26 Nov
13:00 – 15:30

Tue, 27 Nov
21:00 – 23:30

Wed, 28 Nov

Thu, 29 Nov
03:00 – 05:30

Fri, 30 Nov
11:00 – 13:30

Sat, 01 Dec
17:00 – 19:30

Sun, 02 Dec

Mon, 03 Dec
01:00 – 03:30

Tue, 04 Dec
09:00 – 11:30

Wed, 05 Dec
15:00 – 17:30

Thu, 06 Dec
23:00 – 01:30

Fri, 07 Dec

Sat, 08 Dec
07:00 – 09:30

Sun, 09 Dec
13:00 – 15:30

Mon, 10 Dec
21:00 – 23:30

Tue, 11 Dec

Wed, 12 Dec
05:00 – 07:30

Thu, 13 Dec
11:00 – 13:30

Fri, 14 Dec
19:00 – 21:30

Sat, 15 Dec

Sun, 16 Dec
03:00 – 05:30

Facebook Comments

About Author

Comments are closed.