Final four decided in 2018 New Year’s Cup



The New Year’s Cup 2018 continued on Christmas day (25 December) with the last two quarter final games taking place at a packed JD Dlepu stadium. Zwide Pirates proved to be too strong for Bathurst City tigers as they defeated them by three unanswered goals and proceeded to the semi finals.

In the highly anticipated second game, Addo Academy took on Amavarara from Queenstown. The game started well with both teams trying to gain an early advantage, but it was Amavarara who dominated the midfield battle. Addo opened the scoring in the early stages of the first half after a swift move that started in the middle of park with some great interpassing that was finished off with a cracker by Mzoxolo Rafane. Addo protected their lead until the halftime break.

Amavarara came back very strongly in the second half and pushed Addo Academy all the way, but failed to capitalise on the numerous chances they created. Addo held on to their slender lead until the final whistle.

Amavarara were visiting Makhanda (Grahamstown) for the third time, as they were beaten in the final in 2016 and lost in the semis last year to Maru. The final four teams that will contest the semis are Grahamstown United, Manyora, Zwide Pirates and Addo Academy.

Facebook Comments

About Author

Comments are closed.